Great British Gardens: Season by Season

Great British Gardens takes us on a guided tour, throughout the seasons, of four of the most beautiful and important gardens in Britain. 

Each episode explores one stunning garden: the arts and craft treasure Great Dixter in the Sussex Weald; the minutely tended ‘John’s Garden’ at Ashwood in the Black Country; Gravetye Manor in East Sussex, with its enviable kitchen garden;  and Gresgarth Hall, the Lancashire retreat of one of Britain’s most renowned designers. 

Presenter Carol Klein visits each garden, meets the people who care for them, and learns the secrets of some of Britain’s most treasured outdoor spaces.

Episode 1 & 2

Carol Klein visits Great Dixter in East Sussex. She gets to know its custodians, explores how the garden changes from season to season, and learns what makes it one of Britain’s greatest gardens.

Episode 3 & 4

Carol Klein visits ‘John’s Garden’ at Ashwood in South Staffordshire. She explores the garden throughout a year, and learns what makes it one of the most loved and best of British gardens.

Episode 5 & 6

Carol Klein visits Gravetye Manor, a stunning country house hotel with a very important garden. She meets Tom Coward, who needs to balance the garden’s heritage with the demands of a modern kitchen garden.                 

Episode 7 & 8

Carol Klein visits Gresgarth Hall, the country house retreat of Lady Arabella Lennox-Boyd. Arabella has spent 40 years developing this masterpiece – a fairytale place, complete with river, reflective lake and wild woods.